Symphony Orchestra: Frankenstein

One of the most famous literary works of the last two centuries, Mary Shelley's Frankenstein (1818) permeates our cultural imagination. A man of science makes dead matter live yet abandons his own creation. A creature is composed of human body parts yet denied a place in human society. The epic struggle that ensues between creator and creature poses enduring questions to all of us. Three students take on the themes from Mary Shelley's Frankenstein in three world premieres in this Halloween weekend concert. This concert is in tandem with campus wide Frankenstein Project and the First Year Center's Common Reading Program.


Tragic Overture, Op. 81 (1880)- Johannes Brahms (1833-1897)

Danse Macabre, Op. 40 (1874) - Camille Saint-Saëns (1835-1921)

Toccata and Fugue in D Minor, MWV 565 (1703-1707) - Johann Sebastian Bach (1685-1750)

          Transcribed by Leopold Stokowski (1882-1977) in 1927


North by Andrew Savino

Dialogue by Ethan Evans

The Creator by Cole Reyes

The Monster by Cole Reyes