ZouM New Music Ensemble

The ZouM Faculty New Music Collective consists of faculty members from the University of Missouri-Columbia School of Music. Formed in 2016, the group’s mission is to promote chamber works by living composers, and to foster community within our School of Music. ZouM recently commissioned St. Louis-based composer Christopher Stark, which was made possible by the Sinquefield Charitable Foundation and the Mizzou New Music Initiative. 




Portrait Sequence (Blanching Out) (2012)                                                     Jacob Gotlib (b.1984)


Abby Rehard, percussion

Megan Arns, percussion


Dejate Caer (2012)                                                                                          Carolina Heredia (b.1981)

for solo violin and electronic playback


Julie Rosenfeld, violin

Carolina Heredia, electronics


Southern Harmony (2014)                                                                              Jacob Bancks (b. 1982)

selections from ten songs on shape-note texts           

1.  Devotion – Isaac Watts

2.  Bear Creek – Isaac Watts

5.  The Old Ship of Zion – Thomas W. Carter

7.  Holy Manna – George Atkin

10.  Funeral Thought – Reginald Heber


Julia Bentley, mezzo-soprano

Neil Minturn, piano


Winter Haiku (2016)                                                                                       Dennis Leclaire (b. 1950)


Esterhazy String Quartet

Eva Szekely, violin

Julie Rosenfeld, violin

Leslie Perna, viola

Eli Lara, cello






Tantrums (2017)                                                                                              Asha Srinivasan (b. 1980)

for saxophone, percussion and interactive electronics



Leo Saguiguit, baritone saxophone

Megan Arns, percussion

Asha Srinivasan, electronics


Monday, Midnight (2017)                                                                              Christopher Stark (b. 1980)


Steven Tharp, tenor

Kristine Poulsen, alto flute

Wesley Warnhoff, clarinet

Julie Rosenfeld, violin

Eli Lara, cello

Neil Minturn, piano

Megan Arns, percussion

Stefan Freund, conductor